Daily and Holiday Offerings

Jul 5, 2015

וַיְדַבֵּר יְהֹוָה אֶל־מֹשֶׁה לֵּאמֹר׃

Hashem spoke to Moshe, saying:

Numbers 28:1

וַיֹּאמֶר מֹשֶׁה אֶל־בְּנֵי יִשְׂרָאֵל כְּכֹל אֲשֶׁר־צִוָּה יְהֹוָה אֶת־מֹשֶׁה׃

So Moshe spoke to the Israelites just as Hashem had commanded Moshe.

Numbers 30:1

The remainder of the portion is dedicated to the sacrificial services to be brought daily to the Tabernacle, including the additions for special occasions. The daily offering consists of two lambs, one in the morning and one in the evening, with accompanying meal-offerings and drink-offerings. For the Sabbath, there are an additional two he-lambs.


The Israel Bible reminds us that the Sabbath is meant to mark both the seventh day of creation and the Exodus from Egypt. By keeping the Sabbath, we bear witness that God not only created the world, but also continues to take part in it. Likewise, when we observe the seven-year shmitta cycle, we acknowledge that God is the source of all our material success.


The sacrifice of the new moon, marking the start of each new month in the Jewish calendar, is two young bullocks, one ram, seven he-lambs and accompanying meal and drink offerings. There is also a he-goat for a sin offering that must be brought that day.


The Passover offering, brought the fourteenth day of the first month, is two young bullocks, a ram, seven he-lambs, and a he-goat for atonement, with their accompanying meal and drink offerings. The first and seventh day of the Passover holiday are marked by not doing any creative work and no leavened product may be eaten for the duration of the holiday.


The Feast of Weeks is marked seven weeks later, for one day of holy convocation. The burnt offering consists of two young bullocks, one ram, seven he-lambs and a he-goat for atonement, like Passover.


The New Year offering is one young bullock, one ram, seven he-lambs and a he-goat for atonement. The Day of Atonement, accompanied by affliction of the soul, also requires a sacrifice of one young bullock, one ram, seven he-lambs and a he-goat for atonement. The Feast of Tabernacles requires a different combination of animals offered each day, accompanied by meal and drink offerings.


Although the Feast of Tabernacles is only seven days long, the following eighth day is also a holy convocation. It requires a young bullock, a ram, seven he-lambs and a he-goat for atonement. The Israel Bible discusses this unique day. The first seven days of the Feast of Tabernacles, the Sages teach, have an international aspect, with seventy animal sacrifices being brought to represent the seventy nations of the world. The eighth day, however, is a day for God to celebrate alone with His people, as if He is saying, “I don’t want you to leave yet.”


Virtual Classroom Discussion

What do you think is the significance of Passover having the same offerings every day, but the Feast of Tabernacles (also seven days long) having different sacrifices each day?

Spread the love