Burnt Offerings

Mar 15, 2015

The Torah describes three types of burnt offerings which one might choose to bring to the Tabernacle, a cattle offering, an offering ‘from the flock’, or an offering of fowl. In the first two cases, the text specifies a male animal shall be brought — a bull, a male sheep or a he-goat. For the fowl, a turtledove or young pigeon is appropriate. In each case, the Torah details where to bring the animal, how to slaughter it and what to do with its various parts. In all cases (except the crop of the bird, which is discarded), the animal is burnt in its entirety on the altar — it is called a ‘sweet savor to God.’


Virtual Classroom Discussion

Why do you think the portion opens with the rules of voluntary offerings before mandatory ones?

Connect to Israel on a deeper level

With the ONLY Bible highlighting the Land & People of Israel.


Full text of the Hebrew Scriptures in English and Hebrew with select transliterated verses


Unique Israel focused commentary on every chapter

LEARN Hebrew

Proper Hebrew pronunciation of key biblical names and places


The Israel Bible comes with a Hebrew alphabet chart, and additional learning sheets